Invertebrate Zoology Hemichordata


The phylum Hemichordata includes the acorn worms and the pterobranchs.  Members of both classes live in or on marine substrates and feed on sediments or suspended organic matter.


Phylum Hemichordata

1.      Marine, deuterostomate animals with a body divided into three regions: proboscis, collar, and trunk; coelom divided into three cavities

2.      Soft bodied and wormlike

3.      Ciliated pharyngeal slits

4.      Open circulatory system

5.      Complete digestive tract

6.      Dorsal, sometimes tubular, nerve cord


Return to the Course Outline

Return to the Invertebrate Zoology Homepage